Tech News

Flickr To End 1TB Free Storage Option; 1,000 Photos Allowed For Free Users Now

Flickr, the popular image and video hosting service, changed its ownership recently in April. SmugMug, the new owner of the company, has announced their first change since the change of ownership and this is a huge change.

Informing the users, Flickr said in a press release, “Unfortunately, “free” services are seldom actually free for users. Users pay with their data or with their time. We would rather the arrangement be transparent.”

Free users can now upload 1,000 photos regardless of the size.

Free users who have more than 1,000 pictures uploaded in their Flickr account have been given time until January 8, 2019, to upgrade to the Pro version with unlimited storage or delete their surplus photos from the Flickr servers.

After January 8, 2019, such users will not be able to upload more photos, and on February 5, 2019, Flickr will start deleting the excess photos until the count is 1,000. The company will remove the oldest photos first.

While downgrading the services for free users, Flickr has bought some significant changes to the Pro account that costs $49.99 for the annual subscription.

Pro account users will be allowed to upload unlimited photographs and videos at full resolution. Other features include no ads, stats on the performance of their pictures, “premier” customer service, partner discounts from Adobe, SmugMug, Peak Design and more. Now the pro account users can upload videos up to 10 minutes as opposed to the earlier limit of 3 minutes.

To make it easy for free users, Flickr has also announced a 30% discount on the first year of the Pro subscription. The offer is valid until November 30th.

Moreover, from January onwards, Flickr users can log in without using a Yahoo! account.

Also Read: iOS 12.1 Flaw Allows Anyone To Access Your Contacts; Here’s A Fix



Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *